Senior Science Quiz National Final 2018

The National Finals of the annual ISTA Senior Science Quiz took place in the Tercentenary Hall in Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute on Saturday 24th November. It was full to capacity with 50 teams of Leaving Certificate science students representing 20 counties from all around Ireland and their teachers. Almost 1100 Leaving Certificate students took part in the Regional Finals held during Science Week and the top 150 LC students were invited to the BioPharmaChemical Ireland sponsored National Final.

The charity associated with the quiz this year was the Irish Kidney Association highlighting organ donation. All attendees received a pen and an organ donor card. Thanks to Colin White IKA National Projects Manager for attending the quiz and accepting a small donation. Thanks also to Enda Dempsey who represented BioPharmaChemical Ireland.

Thanks to all the local coordinators and their teams in the 14 Branches of ISTA who facilitated the Regionals Rounds during Science Week. (Sarah Brusey, Maura Conneally, Brendan Duane, Gary Galvin, Maireád Donnelly, Michelle Lyons, Mary McDonagh, Siobhán Mc Cormack, Tríona Mulcahy, Sam Pearson, Seamus O’Donghaile, Aodhagan O’Suilleabhain, Seán Reidy, Maria Sheehan & Brian Smyth). Thanks also to the Dublin Branch of ISTA who organised the Final.  A special thanks to Prof Luke O’Neill who welcomed us to Trinity College and also presented copies of his book ‘Humanology’ as spot prizes for the teachers. Thanks to  John Loughlin, current Chairperson of ISTA and Gerry Murphy, RTÉ & Met Éireann who acted as guest quizmaster, BioPharmaChemical Ireland main sponsor, Trinity College who provided the venue. Also thanks to CJ Fallon, Folens, ICI, IoP Ireland, SEAI & StudyClix, TIMSTAR who provided spot prizes and last but not least the students and their teachers who attended.

Congratulations and well done to ALL who participated. The top 10 teams this year were:

  • Eunan’s, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
  • Louis C.S., Kiltimagh, Co. Mayo
  • St Columba’s, Stranorlar, Co. Donegal
  • Ardscoil Rís, Limerick
  • CBS High School, Clonmel, Co Tipperary
  • Mary’s CBS Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford
  • Ardscoil na Trionoide, Athy, Co. Kildare
  • St Mary’s College, Galway
  • Summerhill College, Sligo
  • St Gerard’s, Bray, Co. Wicklow

Photo: St. Eunan’s, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal overall winners for 2018.
Gerry Murphy, RTÉ & Met Eireann, (Quizmaster), Conal Bonar, Ben Harkin, Liam Keane. Mr. Enda Dempsey (BPCI) & Ms. Mary Mullaghy (National Quiz Coordinator).

Related Articles

Upcoming Events