ISTA Senior Science Quiz Final 2012

Thanks to all who participated in the Regional Rounds of the ISTA Senior Science Quiz. All the teachers of the winning teams have now been contacted with the details for the Final on Saturday 24th November in Trinity College. So check your emails! The lovely Arlene O’Neill, Dublin Rose of Tralee and PhD student at CRANN will be the guest quizmaster and the charity that we are supporting this year is Cystic Fibrosis Association of Ireland. The Final is generously sponsored by PharmaChemical Ireland.

Please make sure that your membership is up to date otherwise you may be disqualified from the competition – Refer to the Rules of Application!

Related Articles

ISTA Senior Science Quiz National Final 2012

Congratulations to the winners of the ISTA Senior Science Quiz National Final which was held in Trinity College. Thanks to all the students who participated, ISTA teachers who attended, our guest quizmaster Arlene O’Neill and our special guests, Philip Watt CEO of Cystic Fibrosis Ireland and Charlie Dolan, Honorary President of ISTA. The prizes are generously sponsored by PharmaChemical Ireland. 

The winning teams were

1. St Joseph’s CBS, Nenagh, Co Tipperary.

2. Scoil Mhuire, Cork.

3. Abbey Vocational School, Donegal.

4. St Louis Secondary School, Monaghan.

5. Glanmire Community School, Cork.

Photo: Arlene O’Neill (Dublin Rose of Tralee with PhD in Nanoscience), Martin O’Neill, Alan Fitzhenry, Charlie Dolan (ISTA Honorary President) Patrick Timmons, Paul Dolan (ISTA Teacher) & Mary Mullaghy (ISTA National Chairperson & Quiz Coordinator)

National Final of Senior Science Quiz 2010

Thank you to everyone who participated in the Final of the ISTA Senior Science Quiz held in Trinity College on Saturday 27th November and a special thanks to Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin who was the celebrity guest quizmaster. Details of the Winners is now posted under NEWS.

Despite snowy weather 30 out of 32 teams showed up for the Final. Mr Matt Moran, Director of PharmaChemical Ireland and current President of ISTA launched the new PharmaChemical Ireland ISTA Awards for teachers 2010.

The quiz was generously sponsored by PharmaChemical Ireland, with cash prizes going to the first five teams ranging from €200 to €50 per team member. The Royal Society of Chemistry sponsored the hiring of the venue.

Thanks to all ISTA members who attended the quiz and to those who helped out at the event and a special thanks to all the teams and their teachers who travelled from all over Ireland.

It was a tightly fought competition. Four teams tied for first place so after tie breakers the following were the eventual winners.

  1. St Mary’s College, Galway.
  2. St MacCartan’s College, Monaghan.
  3. Summerhill College, Sligo
  4. Blackrock College, Dublin.
  5. Christian Brothers Secondary School, Nenagh, Co Tipperary. 
    Gift for Aoibhinn presented by Mary Mullaghy was sponsored by Royal Society of Chemistry.

Upcoming Events